A new exhibit has opened on Preble County’s role in the Underground Railroad, which helped enslaved people escape from Southern states to freedom in the North and Canada in the 1860s.
The exhibit is named after Gabriel Smith, known as “Old Gabe,” a free black man who served as a conductor on the Underground Railroad and lived at the Bunker Hill House near Camden.

The new permanent exhibit opened in late February and is part of the Preble County Historical Society’s displays at the Swartsel Farm, off SR 122 in Eaton.
The exhibit hall also includes displays on agriculture, local school history, and includes two rare vintage cars.

The Historical Society is located on the 255-acre Swartsel Farm, which was donated by Sara Swartsel in 1974. The family is related to the Swartzel’s (with a Z) of Farmersville.
The property includes the 1860 Sayler-Swartzel House, an 1813 log house, a bank barn, the exhibit hall, an outdoor amphitheater, an outdoor wedding area and seven miles of hiking trails.


Sayler-Swartzel House

The Preble County Historical Society is located at 7693 Swartsel Road, off 122 in Eaton. Current exhibit hours are Tuesdays, 4-7 pm and Thursdays 10 am - 2 pm.
The facility will have daily hours beginning in May with guided tours.
Visit the Preble County Historical Society website to learn more about their exhibits, rentals and upcoming events.

© 2026 Twin Creek Times

Your ad and link could be here

